Jaar, Lament of the Images

Is it possible to be a pessimistic artist and, at the same time, driven by undaunted optimism in one’s own artistic practice? The New York-based Chilean artist Alfredo Jaar with his internationally present installations that combine elements of photography, architecture and theatre is the living proof.

Jaar reacts to the dramatic injustices and catastrophes of our times, whether it is the military dictatorship in his home country Chile, the fate of illegal immigrants at the US-border, the apocalyptic conditions in Brazilian goldmines, or the genocide in Rwanda. Paula Rodríguez Sickert’s film honours the profound humanistic attitude behind Jaar’s works and public interventions.

Her general decision to approach Jaar’s thinking and oeuvre solely through his own voice, is highly appropriate considering his works which never cease to critically reflect their own artistic conduct and effects.

The insights into Jaar’s emotions and thoughts in the process of his work are convincingly supported by the soundtrack of film composer and DJ Nicolas Jaar. Highly present and transparent, yet never intrusive, Jaar’s son engages in an eye-to-eye dialog with the work of a father who never tires to revolt against the “criminal indifference” of the world, also and not least the art world.

(sh)

Paula Rodríguez Sickert

Paula Rodríguez Sickert (*1963 in Santiago, Chile) lived in Berlin between 1989 and 2014. She obtained a degree in architecture from the Berlin School of Arts (Hochschule der Künste) in 1992 and the German Film and Television Academy in Berlin (DffB) in 2002. She embarked on her professional career as a documentary film director and Television journalist. A number of her documentaries, such as, “First Steps“ (1998), “Pinochet´s Children“(2003) have been awarded by international film festivals. The Documentary “Isabel Allende” (2008) has been distributed on television channels around the world. In 2010, she founded her the film production company VISIONA Film productions in Berlin. After moving back to Chile she filmed the 8-chapter series, “Muertes Anunciadas” (2016), a journalistic report from Peru, Ecuador and Bolivia regarding the subject of femicide, in which she was director, scriptwriter and producer.

Jaar, Lament of the Images

Kann man als Künstler ein pessimistischer Intellektueller und zugleich von unverdrossenem Optimismus in der eigenen künstlerischen Praxis getrieben sein? Der seit langem in New York lebende chilenische Künstler Alfredo Jaar ist mit seinen weltweit präsenten Installationen, die Elemente von Fotografie, Architektur und Theater verbinden, der lebende Beweis.

Paula Rodríguez Sickerts Film würdigt die tiefe humanistische Haltung, die hinter Jaars Werken und öffentlichen Interventionen steckt. Jaar reagiert auf die großen Ungerechtigkeiten und Katastrophen unserer Zeit, sei es die Militärdiktatur in seinem Heimatland Chile, das Schicksal der illegalen Einwanderer an der US-amerikanischen Grenze, die apokalyptischen Zustände in brasilianischen Goldminen oder der Genozid in Ruanda.

Sickerts Grundsatzentscheidung, sich dem Denken und dem Werk Jaars ausschließlich über dessen eigene Stimme zu nähern, ist seinen durchdachten Werken, die das eigene künstlerische Handeln und dessen Wirkung stets kritisch mitreflektieren, angemessen.

Die Einblicke in Jaars Gefühle und Gedankengänge bei der Entstehung der Werke werden vom Soundtrack des Filmkomponisten und DJs Nicolas Jaar wirkungsvoll begleitet. Niemals aufdringlich, doch sehr präsent und transparent tritt Jaars Sohn mit seiner Musik in einen gleichberechtigten Dialog mit dem Werk seines Vaters, der nicht müde wird, sich mit Vehemenz gegen die „kriminelle Indifferenz“ in der Welt, auch und gerade in der Sphäre der Kunst, aufzulehnen.

(sh)

Paula Rodríguez Sickert

Paula Rodríguez Sickert (geboren 1963 in Santiago, Chile) lebte zwischen 1989 und 2014 in Berlin. 1992 machte sie ihren Abschluss in Architektur an der Hochschule der Künste (HdK) und 2002 in Filmregie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (DffB). Sie begann ihre Karriere als Dokumentarfilmerin und Fernsehjournalistin. Mehrere ihrer Dokumentationen, z.B. „First Steps“ (1998) und „Pinochet’s Children“ (2003) wurden von internationalen Filmfestivals ausgezeichnet. Die Dokumentation „Isabel Allende“ (2008) wurde international im Fernsehen ausgestrahlt. 2010 gründete sie ihre eigene Produktionsfirma für Dokuementarfilme VISIONA Film Productions. Nachdem sie zurück nach Chile zog, drehte sie die achtteilige Serie „Muertes Anunciadas“ (2016), ein journalistischer Bericht aus Peru, Ecuador und Bolivien über Frauenmord, wobei sie als Regisseurin, Drehbuchautorin und Produzentin tätig war.