Impulso

When it comes to flamenco, they say, sentiment and passion are more important than technique. But it is also true that flamenco is an art form with complex and strict rhythmical conventions and that it is anything but easy to bring new ideas to this deeply rooted tradition and convince a demanding audience. Rocío Molina is one of the few virtuoso flamenco dancers who nevertheless seek out new ways. Her experiments with improvisation are highly challenging for herself as well as for her musicians.

Emilio Belmonte’s film allows us to feel the tremendous concentration of this exceptional artist during her working process. Each of her captivating performances is a search and requires a high level of openness, precision, strength and courage. Belmonte captures this intensive labour in all its aspects. Thanks to the greatly sensitive editing that aligns with the flamenco rhythms, his film maintains the immediacy of a fascinating dance experience. With his portrait, the filmmaker intensively celebrates and explores the layers of Molina’s art and still leaves enough space to acknowledge the excellent musicians who accompany her.

With her experimental work, Rocío Molina does not simply reject tradition, instead she uses it as point of reference which becomes obvious in a moving performance with the flamenco legend La Chana. This appearance is one of the film’s highlights and serves as proof that it takes a truly great artist to break with tradition and then reinvent it by way of radical change.

(ab)

Emilio Belmonte

Emilio Belmonte is a Spanish filmmaker and poet. After having studied engineering and literature at the University of Valencia, Emilio moved to France in 1999 and started directing documentaries for television. Impulso is his first feature-length documentary and a return to his Andalusian roots.

Impulso

Im Flamenco, sagt man, sind Gefühl und Leidenschaft wichtiger als Technik. Und doch unterliegen Musik und Tanz strengen rhythmischen Konventionen. Es ist deshalb alles andere als leicht, ein meist anspruchsvolles Publikum mit Neuerungen zu begeistern. Die Spanierin Rocío Molina gehört zu den wenigen herausragenden Tänzerinnen, die dennoch nach neuen Wegen suchen. Mit ihrer Öffnung hin zur Improvisation verlangt sie sich und ihren Musikern Außerordentliches ab.

Emilio Belmontes Film lässt die ungeheure Konzentration spüren, mit der diese Ausnahmekünstlerin arbeitet. Jeder ihrer fesselnden Auftritte ist eine Suche, die ein hohes Maß an Offenheit, Präzision, Kraft und Mut verlangt. Belmonte fängt diese intensive Arbeit in all ihren Facetten ein. Dank der sensiblen, dem Flamencorhythmus angepassten Bearbeitung gelingt es ihm, in seinem Film die Direktheit eines faszinierenden Tanzerlebnisses aufrechtzuerhalten.

Belmontes Portrait, das auch der hervorragenden Musik viel Raum lässt, feiert die Sinnlichkeit von Molinas grenzüberschreitender Kunst und erkundet zugleich ihre tieferen Schichten. Dass diese nicht in einfacher Zurückweisung der Tradition, sondern mit Bezug auf sie entsteht, wird in einem bewegenden Auftritt mit der Flamenco-Legende La Chana deutlich. Belmontes Film zeigt, dass nur eine große Künstlerin wie Rocío Molina mit einer Tradition brechen und sie zugleich durch ihre radikale Veränderung neu entstehen lassen kann.

(ab)

Emilio Belmonte

Emilio Belmonte is ein spanischer Filmemacher und Gedichtautor. Nachdem er Ingenieurswissenschaften und Literatur an der Universität von Valencia studierte, zog er 1999 nach Frankreich, wo er begann, Dokumentarfilme zu drehen. Impulso ist seine erste lange Dokumentation und eine Besinnung auf seine andalusischen Wurzeln.