DOKUARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
October 4-21, 2018

UNFORMATIERT / BEYOND FORMAT
Doku.Arts - Films on Art 11

Artistic documentary films by independent film auteurs, whose work crosses the boundaries of format, have almost entirely disappeared from German television programs.

BEYOND FORMAT. Doku.Arts - Films on Art 11 provides the opportunity to witness the entire fascinating and vivid spectrum of contemporary work in the field of documentary film beyond format. Particularly unconventional intimate artist-portraits, essay films, long-term observations and the documentation of work processes have become a rarity within the German media landscape. Internationally, however, these works enjoy great popularity and are held in high esteem by film makers as well as the general audience even if they usually are placed at the fringes of the big festivals. Thematically, all arts can be represented: music, literature, painting, sculpture, architecture, theatre, cinema, photography, dance, concept art, experimental film, film montage, etc.

BEYOND FORMAT. Doku.Arts - Films on Art 11 showcases through its program the memory of the arts and their significance for the present. Our project offers film makers, scholars and artists a platform to engage in a mutually stimulating dialog about genre-specific films as well as about current art discourses.

Our international festival presents about 25 new full-length films on art, which to date have not been shown in Berlin; most of them will be German premieres. Nearly all film makers will present their work in person.

The international symposium with the participation of exceptional scholars and film makers complements the festival and is one of its highlights.

CALL FOR ENTRIES 2018!

Films for the 11th edition of DOKUARTS can be submitted until June 1, 2018.

Documentaries of all lengths that have premiered after June 1, 2016 and have not been shown to the public in Berlin or broadcasted on public TV in Germany prior to DOKUARTS 2018 are eligible.

Detailed conditions of participation and the online application form can be found here:

Regulations

Application Form

We are very much looking forward to receiving new documentaries on art!

Essaydox in Rio de Janeiro

Our Brazilian partner, Instituto Moreira Salles in Rio de Janeiro screened a selection of films from last year's Essaydox program from July 27 until July 30, 2017.

DOKUARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
4.-21. Oktober 2018

UNFORMATIERT / BEYOND FORMAT
Doku.Arts - Filme zur Kunst 11

Der unformatierte und von unabhängigen Filmautoren hergestellte künstlerische Dokumentarfilm ist mittlerweile fast gänzlich aus den deutschen Fernsehprogrammen verschwunden.

UNFORMATIERT. Doku.Arts – Filme zur Kunst 11 zeigt das gesamte faszinierende und lebendige Formenspektrum des zeitgenössischen unformatierten dokumentarischen Schaffens. Insbesondere unkonventionelle persönliche Künstlerportraits, Essayfilme, Langzeitbeobachtungen und die Dokumentation von Arbeitsprozessen sind selten geworden in der deutschen Medienlandschaft, erfreuen sich jedoch international großer Beliebtheit bei Filmemachern und dem Publikum, obwohl sie meist nur am Rande der großen Festivals vereinzelt aufzufinden sind. Alle Künste können hierbei vertreten sein: Musik, Literatur, Malerei, Bildhauerei, Architektur, Literatur, Lyrik, Theater, Kino, Fotografie, Tanz, Konzeptkunst, Experimentalfilm, Schauspiel, Filmmontage.

UNFORMATIERT. Doku.Arts – Filme zur Kunst 11 präsentiert mit seinem Programm das Gedächtnis der Künste und ihre Bedeutung für die Gegenwart. Das Projekt stellt eine in Europa einmalige Plattform für Filmemacher*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen zum Austausch über genrespezifische Filme und Diskurse zur Kunst dar.

Die internationale Filmwerkschau präsentiert ca. 25 neue lange Filme zur Kunst, die noch nicht in Berlin zu sehen waren, die meisten als Deutschlandpremieren. Fast alle Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher werden ihre Filme persönlich präsentieren.

Das internationale Symposium unter Beteiligung von herausragenden Wissenschaftler*innen und Filmemacher*innen stellt nach dem Auftakt des Festivals einen Höhepunkt dar.

CALL FOR ENTRIES 2018!

Für die 11. Ausgabe von DOKUARTS können ab sofort bis zum 1. Juni 2018 Filme eingereicht werden.

Teilnehmen können Filme aller Längen, die nach dem 1. Juni 2016 Premiere hatten, vor der diesjährigen Festivalausgabe noch nicht in Berlin gezeigt wurden und noch keine deutsche TV-Ausstrahlung hatten.

Detaillierte Teilnahmebedingungen sowie das Einreichungsformular sind hier zu finden:

Teilnahmebedingungen

Einreichungsformular

Wir freuen uns schon sehr auf neue Dokumentarfilme zur Kunst!

Essaydox in Rio de Janeiro

Unser brasilianischer Partner, das Instituto Moreira Salles in Rio de Janeiro, präsentierte vom 27.-30. Juli 2017 eine Auswahl an Filmen aus dem letztjährigen Programm Essaydox.