Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

A subsequent fulfilment of a pre-historic wish

The fortune you seek is in another cookie

“Travelling does not help us much in understanding but it does serve to reactivate for a second the use of our eyes, the visual reading of the world.” – Italo Calvino

Travelling entails a continuous change of perspective through which the world is experienced as manifold and fluctuating. Two films by Johannes Gierlinger relate to this experience. Both start with a question which subsequently directs the filmmaker to various places; answers are to be found nowhere, yet each place presents him with a new facet of the question.

A subsequent fulfilment of a pre-historic wish seeks meaning in the tragic death of the Cuban-American artist Ana Mendieta. Gierlinger picks up the significant elements of Mendieta’s art – nature, death, spirituality, ritual – and thus links the fate of an individual to the universal human experience of loss and death.

The essay film The fortune you seek is in another cookie sets forth to explore the question of happiness. This journey leads to diverse places such as a carnival parade, the Gezi Park protests, Fellini’s Cinecittà, the Atacama Desert or a trailer park in California. But it also leads to people, films and memories. Happiness remains an enigma; just like the universe which in this film becomes a metaphor, it has neither a fixed structure nor an immanent value. Even so, the search with camera and telescope continues. The film fascinates with the mimetic quality that the movement of its search displays; it appears as an attempt to assimilate oneself to the object one beholds. Whenever Gierlinger’s gaze turns towards another human being, his search turns out to be not only personal but also a poetic-political practise.

(ab)

Johannes Gierlinger

Johannes Gierlinger (b. 1985, Salzburg, Austria) studied digital media in Salzburg and Istanbul and currently at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. He has received several scholarship grants and awards, amongst others the Annual Grant for Film from the Federal State Government Salzburg, Ö1 Talentscholarschip for Arts, Docutiff Tirana-Award for Best Feature, Best Experimentalfilm at Backup Filmfestival Weimar. His films have been screened and exhibited at various film festivals and institutions like the CPH:DOX Copenhagen, Edinburgh Filmfestival, Kassel Dokfest, Transcinema Lima, Diagonale Graz, Museum of Modern Art Vienna, Kino Palacio Nacional de las Artes Buenos Aires, Kunstforum Vienna and many more. He lives and works in Vienna.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

A subsequent fulfilment of a pre-historic wish

The fortune you seek is in another cookie

„Reisen hilft nicht viel zum Begreifen, aber es hilft, den Gebrauch der Augen für einen Moment zu reaktivieren: die visuelle Lektüre der Welt zu üben.” – Italo Calvino

Reisen bedeutet einen kontinuierlichen Perspektivenwechsel, der die Welt als vielfältig und veränderlich erfahrbar macht. Von dieser Erfahrung erzählen zwei Filme von Johannes Gierlinger. Beide beginnen mit einer Frage, die den Filmemacher an verschiedenste Orte führt. Antworten bekommt er nirgendwo, dafür findet er an jedem Ort neue Facetten der Frage.

A subsequent fulfilment of a pre-historic wish beginnt mit der Frage nach der Bedeutung des tragischen Todes der kubanisch-amerikanischen Künstlerin Ana Mendieta. Gierlinger greift die für Mendietas Kunst signifikanten Elemente – Natur, Tod, Spiritualität, Ritual – auf und schlägt so den Bogen vom Einzelschicksal zur universellen menschlichen Erfahrung von Verlust und Tod.

Der Essayfilm The fortune you seek is in another cookie begibt sich auf die Suche nach dem Glück. Die Reise führt zu so verschiedenen Orten wie einem Karnevalszug, den Protesten um den Gezi-Park in Istanbul, Fellinis Cinecittà, in die Atacamawüste oder zu einem kalifornischen Trailerpark. Sie führt aber auch zu Menschen, Filmen und Erinnerungen. Das Glück bleibt ein Enigma; wie das Universum, das im Film zur Metapher wird, hat es weder eine feste Struktur noch einen immanenten Wert. Und doch geht die Suche mit Kamera und Teleskop weiter. Der Film fasziniert durch die mimetische Qualität seiner Suchbewegung: sie erscheint als der Versuch, sich dem jeweils Betrachteten anzugleichen. Da Gierlingers Blick sich dabei immer wieder auf den anderen Menschen richtet, erweist sich seine Suche nicht nur als persönliche, sondern auch als poetisch-politische Praxis.

(ab)

Johannes Gierlinger

Johannes Gierlinger (geb. 1985 in Salzburg) studierte das Fach Digital Media in Salzburg und Istanbul und ist derzeit in Wien an der Akademie der bildenden Künste eingeschrieben. Seine zahlreichen Stipendien und Förderpreise umfassen das Jahresstipendium für Film des Bundeslandes Salzburg, das Ö1 Talentscholarschip for Arts, den Docutiff Tirana-Award for Best Feature sowie die Auszeichnung für den Besten Experimentalfilm beim Backup Filmfestival in Weimar. Seine Filme wurden bei zahlreichen Festivals und in diversen Einrichtungen präsentiert: CPH:DOX Kopenhagen, Edinburgh Filmfestival, Kassel Dokfest, Transcinema Lima, Diagonale Graz, Museum für moderne Kunst Wien, Kino Palacio Nacional de las Artes Buenos Aires, Kunstforum Wien usw. Gierlinger lebt und arbeitet in Wien.