Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Paul Sharits

“Destroy, destroy”, chants the voice-over in Sharits' flicker film T,O,U,C,H,I,N,G that opens François Miron's film essay about avant-garde filmmaker Paul Sharits in a powerful way. But beyond autodestruction, a kind of painful beauty is conveyed, the leitmotif in Miron's intelligent linking of Sharits' life and work.

It is to Miron's credit that he manages to free one of the central protagonists of Expanded Cinema from the stigma of overly cerebral niche art. Miron's film allows us rather to rediscover Sharits as a groundbreaking visual researcher of the fundamental, whose work springs from his own endangered life, out of a deep desire for beauty, meaning and order.

For many of those whom Miron invites to have a say, Sharits' universe was a quasi-religious revelation made of light, colour and texture. Miron enables this experience and opens up fascinating insights into Sharits' “film workshop”. With the possibilities of digital image design, he renders visible the ideas behind the films and the process of their physical implementation. The abundance of drawings, plans, sketches and notes that Miron could draw upon thereby becomes attributed to the same expression of Sharits' artistic strategies that put him into a larger art-historical context beyond the Structural film. Miron shows the connections to Pop Art, Minimalism, Fluxus – but also to Russian and European avant-garde of the early 20th century.

(sh)

François Miron

François Miron began making films in 1982, working exclusively with emulsion (as in film, not video). The body of his early work consists of several short experimental films, all created using the powerful film image manipulation technique of optical printing, which he mastered. In 1990, he received an MFA in filmmaking from The School of The Art Institute Of Chicago where he went on a full merit scholarship. Since 1993 he has been teaching optical printing, cinematography, filmmaking, and technical aspects of films at the Mel Hoppenheim School Of Cinema in Montreal. In 2007 he completed production on The 4th Life, a 35mm. feature film project written with James Galwey. In 2008, he won a Juno Award for his photographic work for the cover of Arcade Fire's album Neon Bible, which was extracted from images that he shot in 16mm B/W and colour reversal film. The same year he won the Prix a la creation artistique from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec for his abstract dance film Hymn to Pan.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Paul Sharits

„Destroy destroy“, skandiert die Off-Stimme in Sharits' Flicker Film T,O,U,C,H,I,N,G, der mit physischer Wucht François Mirons Filmessay über den Filmavantgardisten Paul Sharits eröffnet. Doch jenseits von Autodestruktion vermittelt sich eine Art schmerzliche Schönheit, das Leitmotiv in Mirons intelligenter Verknüpfung von Sharits' Leben und Werk.

Es ist Mirons Verdienst, einen der zentralen Protagonisten des Expanded Cinema vom Stigma einer verkopften Nischenkunst zu befreien. Mirons Film lässt uns vielmehr Sharits ganz neu entdecken als bahnbrechenden visuellen Grundlagenforscher, dessen Arbeit mitten aus seinem gefährdeten Leben entspringt, aus einer tiefen Sehnsucht nach Schönheit, Sinn und Ordnung.

Für viele Wegbegleiter, die Miron zu Wort kommen lässt, war Sharits' Universum aus Licht, Farbe und Struktur eine quasi-religiöse Offenbarung. Miron macht dies erfahrbar, indem er faszinierende Einblicke in Sharits' „Filmwerkstatt“ eröffnet. Mit den Möglichkeiten digitaler Bildgestaltung macht er die Ideen hinter den Filmen und den Prozess ihrer physischen Umsetzung sichtbar. Die Fülle der Zeichnungen, Pläne, Skizzen und Notizen, auf die Miron zurückgreifen konnte, werden dabei zum gleichberechtigen Ausdruck von Sharits künstlerischen Strategien, die ihn über den strukturellen Film hinaus in einen größeren kunsthistorischen Kontext stellen. Miron zeigt die Verbindungen etwa zur Pop Art auf, zum Minimalismus, zu Fluxus, aber auch zur russischen und europäischen Avantgarde des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts.

(sh)

François Miron

François Miron begann 1982 als Filmemacher und arbeitete damals ausschließlich mit Emulsionstechnik (für Film und nicht Video). Seine frühen Projekte umfassen mehrere experimentelle Kurzfilme, die allesamt unter Anwendung eines von ihm entwickelten Bildbearbeitungsverfahrens entstanden: Optisches Printing. 1990 schloss er sein vollständig durch ein Stipendium finanziertes Filmstudium an der School of The Art Institute Of Chicago ab. Seit 1993 lehrt er die Fächer Optisches Printing, Kinematografie, Filmkunst und Filmtechnik an der Mel Hoppenheim School Of Cinema in Montreal. 2007 stellte er The 4th Life fertig, ein 35-mm-Spielfilmprojekt, das er gemeinsam mit James Galwey erarbeitet hatte. 2008 gewann er einen Juno Award für das Cover-Foto des Arcade-Fire-Albums Neon Bible – extrahiert aus Bildmaterial, das er mit 16-mm-Schwarz-Weiß-Film und Farbumkehrfilm erstellt hatte. Im selben Jahr wurde er für seinen abstrakten Tanzfilm Hymn to Pan mit dem vom Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec verliehenen Prix a la creation artistique ausgezeichnet.