Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Notes on Blindness

As a teenager, the theologian John Hull, born in 1935, contracts cataracts. For him, the experience of going blind means a gradual reduction of visual imagination and memory, until they disappear completely in 1983. “Deep blindness” is what he calls this condition, in which the very idea of seeing progressively dissolves. Notably, it is the subsequent social isolation which forces Hull to actively engage in the dramatic transformation of his world. Equipped with a tape recorder, he begins to keep an audio diary which eventually results in the publication of his book Touching the Rock: An Experience of Blindness (1990).

With Notes on Blindness, filmmakers Peter Middleton and James Spinney impressively master the paradoxical task of translating Hull’s blindness into a visual language. In their essay film, scenes from Hull’s life are played by actors whose lip syncing accompanies words from the original tapes. Thus, Hull’s voice remains present, while his participation in the visual world is fractured. For him, the tape recorder becomes a new face – with reels for eyes – whereas the visual belongs now to the world of dreams.

It is from these recordings that the film picks up the recurring metaphor of water for the experience of blindness. But water, in the form of rain, plays another, more tangible role, too: Hull deploys the sound of raindrops to re-create and re-appropriate the space around him. “Blindness is a world”, he says; the film allows us a glimpse into this world and points toward the fact that vision, too, is just another world. In order to understand it better, we must think of blindness as its complement.

(ab)

Peter Middleton and James Spinney

From respective backgrounds studying visual art and English literature, Peter and James have been working together for the past six years on a range of fiction, documentary and cross-platform projects. During this period they have adapted John’s diary material into a series of award-winning short films. The first of these, Rainfall, won the Best Short Documentary Award at Hot Docs 2013. This was followed in 2014 by the Emmy Award-winning short Notes on Blindness, which screened at Sundance Film Festival and won Best Documentary at Encounters Short Film and Animation Festival.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Notes on Blindness

Als Teenager erkrankt der 1935 geborene Theologe John Hull an Katarakt. Sein Erblinden erlebt er als eine graduelle Verminderung des visuellen Vorstellungsvermögens und Erinnerns bis hin zu ihrem kompletten Verlust 1983. „Deep blindness“ nennt er diesen Zustand, in dem schließlich sogar die Vorstellung des Sehens verschwindet. Besonders die folgende soziale Isolation bringt Hull dazu, sich aktiv mit der dramatischen Veränderung seiner Welt zu befassen. So beginnt er, mithilfe eines Kassettenrekorders ein Audiotagebuch zu führen, aus dem 1990 das Buch Touching the Rock: An Experience of Blindness entsteht.

Mit Notes on Blindness meistern die Filmemacher Peter Middleton und James Spinney auf beeindruckende Weise die paradoxe Aufgabe, Hulls Blindheit ins Sichtbare zu übersetzen. In ihrem Film werden Szenen aus Hulls Leben zu den Originaltonaufnahmen von Schauspielern unter Einsatz von Lip Sync nachgespielt. So bleibt Hulls Stimme präsent, seine Teilnahme an der sichtbaren Welt jedoch ist gebrochen. Der Kassettenrekorder wird ihm zum neuen Gesicht, die Tonspulen ersetzen die Augen, während das Sichtbare für Hull nun der Welt der Träume angehört.

Der Film übernimmt von Hull die Metapher des Wassers für das Erblinden. In Form von Regen spielt Wasser jedoch noch eine andere, sehr greifbare Rolle. Hull nutzt den Klang der Tropfen, um sich den Raum um ihn herum neu zu erschaffen und als Wirklichkeit neu anzueignen. „Blindness is a world“, sagt er: Der Film eröffnet uns einen Blick in diese Welt und zeigt uns, dass auch das Sehen nur eine Welt ist, für deren besseres Verständnis wir das Komplementär der Blindheit brauchen.

(ab)

Peter Middleton and James Spinney

Mit Hochschulabschlüssen in Bildender Kunst und Englischer Literatur arbeiten Peter und James nun bereits seit sechs Jahren zusammen und haben in dieser Zeit eine Reihe von fiktionalen, dokumentarischen und plattformübergreifenden Projekten verwirklicht. So haben sie beispielsweise Johns Tagebuchmaterial zu einer Reihe preisgekrönter Kurzfilme verarbeitet, von denen der erste, Rainfall, bei den Hot Docs 2013 mit dem Best Short Documentary Award ausgezeichnet wurde. An diesen Erfolg schlossen sie 2014 mit dem Emmy-prämierten Kurzfilm Notes on Blindness an, der beim Sundance Film Festival gezeigt wurde und beim Encounters Short Film and Animation Festival den Preis für den besten Dokumentarfilm gewann.