Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Exil

“A revolution knows no innocent audience”. This statement opens the highly personal essay film by Cambodian director Rithy Panh, who at fifteen fled the Khmer Rouge to France, the only child from his family to survive. Panh's films revolve around the question of how to cinematically present a genocide for which there are no images.

At the centre of Exile is the young Panh, represented by the young actor Sang Nan. The inner monologue (voiced by Randal Douc) is interspersed with quotations from revolutionary writings, propaganda material and film clips, which serve to make the inner conflicts understandable. Exile resides in the emotional abyss that opens up between gullible adolescents' ability to understand and adults' reflexive vision. The archival images are interspersed with a range of other imagery ranging from surreal to realistic – always carefully arranged tableaux in which the actor acts as if on the theatrical stage.

“Exile is an abandonment, a terrifying solitude. In exile, one's self is lost, one suffers, one fades away. But it is also possible to find one's own, in the land of words, of images, in reverie that is more than childish. It all starts with exile, and nothing is anything without it. Exile is a meditation on absence; on inner solitude, geography, politics. Exile is also an attempt at elucidation on the part of a boy who lived in Democratic Kampuchea and the man he becomes who cannot accept injustice: What kind of revolution might we wish for? A revolution for and with humanity? A revolution that lives up to humanity, with respect and understanding? Or an attempt at destruction, the false purity of which has seen so many disciples, be it in Asia or the West?” – Rithy Panh

(sh)

Rithy Panh

Cambodian director Rithy Panh (b. 1964, Phnom Penh) currently lives in France. In 1975 he was interned in Khmer Rouge rehabilitation camps and escaped to Thailand in 1979. In 1980 he arrived in Paris where he ultimately graduated from the Institut des Hautes Etudes Cinématographiques (IDHEC). He started his career by directing documentaries for which he received numerous prizes: Site II (1989), Cinéma de notre temps: Souleymane Cissé (1990), Cambodge entre guerre et paix (1992). In 1994, he directed his first fiction movie, Neak Srê,selected for competition at Cannes. In 1995, he was in charge of l'Atelier Varan in Cambodia. In 1998, his second feature film Un soir après la guerre was selected at Cannes Official Selection Un Certain Regard, as was his documentary L’image manquante in 2013 which was also nominated for an Oscar His other documentaries include Lumière sur un massacre: 10 films contre 110 000 000 de mines (1997), Van Chan, une danseuse cambodgienne (1998), and La Terre des âmes errantes (1999).

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Exil

„Eine Revolution kennt kein unschuldiges Publikum“ – so beginnt der sehr persönliche Essayfilm des kambodschanischen Regisseurs Rithy Panh, der mit fünfzehn Jahren als einziges überlebendes Kind seiner Familie vor den Roten Khmer nach Frankreich floh. Panhs Filme kreisen um die Frage, wie man einen Genozid, von dem es keine Bilder gibt, im Kino erzählen kann.

Im Mittelpunkt von Exil steht der junge Panh, dargestellt von dem jungen Schauspieler Sang Nan. Der innere Monolog (gesprochen von Randal Douc) ist verzahnt mit Zitaten aus revolutionären Schriften, Propagandamaterial und Filmausschnitten und macht die inneren Auseinandersetzungen nachvollziehbar. Exil ist in jenem emotionalen Abgrund angesiedelt, der sich zwischen dem Erkenntnishorizont des verführbaren Jugendlichen und dem reflexiven Rückblick des Erwachsenen auftut. Die Archivbilder wechseln sich mit surreal bis realistischen, stets sorgfältig arrangierten Tableaus ab, in denen der Schauspieler wie auf einer Theaterbühne agiert.

„Exil ist Verlassenheit, schreckliche Einsamkeit. Im Exil ist das eigene Ich verloren, man leidet, man löst sich auf. Aber es kann auch sein, dass man zu sich findet, im Land der Wörter, der Bilder, in Fantasien, die nicht nur kindlich sind. Alles beginnt mit dem Exil, und ohne es ist alles nichts. Exil ist eine Meditation über die Abwesenheit, über innere Einsamkeit, Geografie, Politik. Exil ist ebenso der Erklärungsversuch eines Jungen, der im Demokratischen Kampuchea lebte, wie des Mannes, zu dem er wurde, unfähig, Ungerechtigkeit zu akzeptieren: Welche Art Revolution könnten wir uns wünschen? Eine Revolution für die Menschheit und mit Menschlichkeit? Eine Revolution, die der Menschheit gerecht wird, mit Respekt und Verständnis? Oder ein Versuch der Zerstörung, der falschen Reinheit, die so viele Anhänger hat, in Asien wie im Westen?“ – Rithy Panh

(sh)

Rithy Panh

Der kambodschanische Regisseur Rithy Panh wurde 1964 in Phnom Penh geboren und lebt heute in Frankreich. 1975 wurde er in einem Resozialisierungslager der Khmer Rouge interniert, 1979 gelang ihm die Flucht nach Thailand. Ab 1980 lebte er in Paris und studierte dort später am Institut des Hautes Etudes Cinématographiques (IDHEC). Er begann seine Karriere mit Dokumentarfilmen, für die er vielfach mit Preisen ausgezeichnet wurde: Site II (1989), Cinéma de notre temps: Souleymane Cissé (1990), Cambodge entre guerre et paix (1992). 1994 führte er Regie bei seinem ersten Spielfilm, Neak Srê, der in die Auswahl bei den Filmfestspielen von Cannes aufgenommen wurde. 1995 übernahm er die Leitung des Atelier Varan in Kambodscha. Sein zweiter Spielfilm, Un soir après la guerre, wurde 1998 in Cannes in die Official Selection Un Certain Regard aufgenommen. Zu seinen Dokumentarfilmen zählen: _Lumière sur un massacre: 10 films contre 110 000 000 de mines (1997), Van Chan, une danseuse cambodgienne (1998), La Terre des âmes errantes (1999). Im Jahr 2013 wurde sein Dokumentarfilm Das fehlende Bild (L’Image manquante) auf den Filmfestspielen von Cannes mit dem Hauptpreis der Sektion Un Certain Regard ausgezeichnet und für den Oscar nominiert.