Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Call Her Applebroog

In 2012, Ida Applebroog presented an installation at the 13th Documenta. The exhibition's leitmotif was Collapse and Recovery; a title just as suitable for the New York artist's complete works.

Applebroog, born Ida Applebaum to orthodox Jewish immigrants in 1929, grew up in the Bronx. She soon experienced her surroundings as restrictive and menacing. To her, in this environment, art meant the possibility of growth and self-preservation. Thus her work repeatedly broaches the issue of human relationships marked by power struggles and role assignments. In the process, the artist uses sexuality and physicality as a screen onto which she projects the varieties of these ongoing themes.

Call Her Applebroog is the cool and intimate portrait of Ida Applebroog by the artist’s daughter, filmmaker Beth B. The film is concurrently the collective work of two equally strong artistic figures. At times, such as when sketches have to be allocated or text decoded, the project resembles an archaeological excavation. But because Applebroog's life and work are the objects of this excavation, she does not always share her daughter’s interest in bringing things to light: “This is a description of I have no idea!“ she states coolly about an old notebook entry at the beginning of the film. Such moments of impatience and weariness are illuminating. They reveal the necessity of a silent space which alone seems to enable the artist to respond to life’s impositions. Between mother and daughter, this is not always without problems. Call Her Applebroog is not only a film about life and art, but also the continuation of both.

(ab)

Beth B

Beth B is an interdisciplinary artist working in narrative, documentary and experimental films, photography, z painting, theatre and sculpture installations for museums, galleries, and public art spaces. Beth B exploded onto the New York film scene in the late ‘70s directing Super-8 films. These breakthrough films were shown at Max’s Kansas City, CBGB’s, New York Film Festival and Film Forum. These and recent films have been shown at the Whitney Museum and MoMA. Throughout her prolific career, Beth B has produced over 30 films and worked in television as an executive producer and director for eight years. Her films have shown at cinemas worldwide and festivals including: New York Film Festival, Sundance Film Festival, Berlin Film Festival, Toronto Film Festival, Nuremberg Int’l Human Rights Festival, and others.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Call Her Applebroog

Collapse and Recovery hieß 2012 das Leitmotiv der 13. Documenta. Dies ließe sich als Titel auch dem Gesamtwerk der New Yorker Künstlerin Ida Applebroog voranstellen, die dort mit einer Installation vertreten war.

Applebroog wurde 1929 als Ida Applebaum in eine jüdisch-orthodoxe Immigrantenfamilie geboren und wuchs in der Bronx auf. Früh erfährt sie ihr Umfeld als beengend und bedrohlich. Kunst dient ihr zur Selbstwerdung und Selbsterhaltung. Ihre Arbeiten thematisieren so immer wieder die von Machtkämpfen und Rollenzuweisungen geprägten menschlichen Beziehungen. Sexualität und Körperlichkeit dienen dabei als Projektionsfläche, auf der sich die Künstlerin mit den Spielarten dieser Themen auseinandersetzt.

Mit Call Her Applebroog ist der Filmemacherin und Tochter Applebroogs Beth B nun ein unaufgeregtes, intimes Porträt gelungen. Zugleich ist der Film das Gemeinschaftsprojekt zweier gleich starker Künstlerpersönlichkeiten. Wenn es dabei gilt, Skizzen zuzuordnen oder Texte zu entschlüsseln, gleicht dieses Projekt oft einer archäologischen Ausgrabung. Da aber Applebroogs Leben und Werk die Objekte dieser Ausgrabung sind, teilt sie nicht immer das Interesse ihrer Tochter, Dinge ans Licht zu bringen: „This is a description of I have no idea!“ sagt sie zu Beginn des Filmes über einen Text aus einem ihrer Notizbücher. Diese Momente der Ungeduld und Lustlosigkeit sind erhellend. Sie verweisen auf einen Ort des Schweigens, von dem allein aus es der Künstlerin möglich scheint, auf die Zumutungen des Lebens zu antworten. Zwischen Mutter und Tochter läuft das nicht immer reibungslos ab; Call Her Applebroog ist ein Film über das Leben und die Kunst und zugleich eine Fortsetzung von beidem.

(ab)

Beth B

Beth B ist eine interdisziplinär arbeitende Künstlerin mit einem breit gefächerten Tätigkeitsfeld, das erzählerische, dokumentarische und experimentelle Filme, Fotografie, Z-Painting, Theater sowie Skulpturinstallationen für Museen, Galerien und öffentliche Kunstschauplätze gleichermaßen umfasst. Beth B eroberte die New Yorker Filmszene in den späten 70er Jahren mit Regiearbeiten im Super-8-Format. Diese bahnbrechenden Filme wurden damals u. a. im Max’s Kansas City, im CBGB, beim New York Film Festival sowie im Film Forum gezeigt und waren vor Kurzem, zusammen mit neueren Werken, im Whitney Museum sowie im MoMA zu sehen. Beth B hat in ihrer äußerst produktiven Schaffenszeit mehr als 30 Filme produziert und war über einen Zeitraum von acht Jahren zudem als Ausführende Produzentin und Regisseurin für das Fernsehen tätig. Ihre Filme wurden in Kinos und bei Festivals in aller Welt gezeigt, darunter beim New York Film Festival, beim Sundance Film Festival, bei der Berlinale, beim Toronto Film Festival und beim Nürnberger Filmfestival der Menschenrechte.