Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

By Sidney Lumet

Nancy Buirski lets us participate in an impressive masterclass by the great moralist of American cinema. Based on an excellent long-term interview by the famous documentary filmmaker Daniel Anker, who died during production, Buirski has created an artful collage of Lumet's films which allows a deep insight into the creative workshop of the original New Yorker, who in Hollywood never quite received the accolades he deserved.
Lumet nevertheless enjoyed the highest esteem among the best actors of his time. Actors' praise for directors in Hollywood is mostly professional hypocrisy, but Buirski shows Lumet, with his theatrical roots, as a true “actor-director”. In so doing, many of the stereotypes about inflationary Method Acting are also unmasked. Rather, the considerable importance of resolute Method detractor Stella Adler to the American cinema becomes visible – an instrumental figure for Lumet and many of his actors. Rare recordings from early television works underpin the acting excellence that Lumet's rehearsal-intensive working methods produced.
In addition to outstanding actors, New York itself made its mark on Lumet's films. Buirski's skilful montage allows the urban areas of the Big Apple to become eloquent actors in Lumet's stories, always negotiating substantial moral conflicts in a diversity of genres. In her humorous portrait of the artist as an old man, these conflicts are shown to be Lumet's life themes.

(sh)

Nancy Buirski

Nancy Buirski is the director, producer and writer of Afternoon of a Faun: Tanaquil Le Clercq that had its world premiere at the 51st New York Film Festival and international premiere at the 64th Berlinale. She is the director, producer and writer of the Peabody and Emmy Award-winning The Loving Story (2011) (HBO). The film was a recipient of a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Buirski is a producer of Harlem Woodstock (Director Alex Gibney), Althea (Director Rex Miller) and consulting producer of Private Violence (Director Cynthia Hill). Buirski founded and was the director of the Full Frame Documentary Film Festival for 10 years. Prior to her work in film, Buirski was the Foreign Picture Editor at The New York Times, garnering the paper its first Pulitzer Prize in photography. Her photo book Earth Angels: Migrant Children in America was published by Pomegranate Press. Prints from the collection were exhibited at the Smithsonian and travelled throughout the U.S. She serves on the Full Frame Board of Advisors and is a member of the Television Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

By Sidney Lumet

Nancy Buirski lässt uns an einer beeindruckenden Meisterklasse beim großen Moralisten des amerikanischen Kinos teilnehmen. Basierend auf einem exzellenten Langzeitinterview des bekannten Dokumentarfilmers Daniel Anker, der während der Produktion verstarb, schuf Buirski mit einer raffinierten Collage aus Lumets Filmen einen tiefen Einblick in die Kreativwerkstatt des Ur-New Yorkers, dem in Hollywood immer die verdiente Anerkennung versagt blieb.
Gleichwohl genoss Lumet unter den besten Schauspielern seiner Zeit höchste Wertschätzung. Schauspielerlob für Regisseure in Hollywood ist meist professionelle Heuchelei, doch Buirski zeigt Lumet mit seinen Theaterwurzeln als wahrhaftigen „Schauspieler-Regisseur“. Dabei werden auch viele der inflationären Klischees über Method Acting entlarvt. Vielmehr wird die eminente Bedeutung der entschiedenen Method-Gegnerin Stella Adler für das amerikanische Kino sichtbar, die für Lumet und viele seiner Schauspieler maßgeblich war. Seltene Aufnahmen aus frühen Arbeiten für das Fernsehen untermauern die schauspielerischen Höchstleistungen, die Lumets probenintensive Arbeitsweise hervorbrachte.
Neben herausragenden Schauspielern prägt New York selbst Lumets Filme. Buirskis geschickte Montage lässt die städtischen Räume des Big Apple zu beredten Akteuren in Lumets Geschichten werden, die bei aller Genrevielfalt stets wesentliche moralische Konflikte verhandeln. In Buirskis humorvollem Porträt des Künstlers als alter Mann erweisen sich diese Konflikte als dessen existenzielle Lebensthemen.

(sh)

Nancy Buirski

Nancy Buirski ist die Regisseurin, Produzentin und Drehbuchautorin der Filmbiografie Afternoon of a Faun: Tanaquil Le Clercq, die beim 51. New York Film Festival uraufgeführt wurde und bei der 64. Berlinale ihr internationales Debüt gab. Ebenso war sie die Regisseurin, Produzentin und Drehbuchautorin des HBO-Films The Loving Story (2011), der mit einem Peabody Award und einem Emmy prämiert und vom National Endowment for the Humanities gefördert wurde. Buirski ist die Produzentin von Harlem Woodstock (Regisseur: Alex Gibney) und Althea (Regisseur: Rex Miller) sowie beratende Produzentin von Private Violence (Regisseurin: Cynthia Hill). Sie ist die Begründerin des Full Frame Documentary Film Festivals, dem sie zehn Jahre lang als Leiterin vorstand. Vor ihrem Wechsel in die Welt des Films war Buirski im internationalen Ressort der New York Times als Fotoredakteurin tätig und brachte der Zeitung den ersten Pulitzer Preis für Fotografie ein. Ihr Fotoband Earth Angels: Migrant Children in America wurde von Pomegranate Press herausgebracht. Kopien aus dieser Sammlung wurden im Smithsonian und in landesweiten Ausstellungen gezeigt. Buirski sitzt im beratenden Vorstand des Full Frame Festivals und ist Mitglied der Television Academy of Arts and Sciences.