Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Beyond Zero: 1914–1918

The First World War has been well-chronicled by a variety of different television series. In traditional documentaries of this kind, battleground footage shot at the time alternates with the (often moving) testimony of survivors and experts. Bill Morrison’s film takes a different path. There is no voice-over in Beyond Zero, no interviews with ex-combatants, no maps and no captions. What the filmmaker has done instead is to go to the archives and to find particularly rare, beautiful, never-before-seen footage and weave it all together into a single seamless sequence that seems as much beholden to dream as to reality. In slowed-down footage, mounted generals cross the screen like ghosts from an earlier age; tanks lumber towards the camera; trenches are exhaustingly cut and defended by barbed wire. In the distance, a dirigible airship can be made out; between battle sequences, some dogs find a dead soldier in a cabbage field.

In place of commentary, the filmmaker has arranged for a magnificent musical score played by the Kronos Quartet (composer: Aleksandra Vrebalov), which underlines and brings out the strangeness of these images of warfare. Often, the nitrate original has suffered damage, so there are dark mottled splodges and other areas of illegibility. This is very much part of the artistic effect. Such blemishes are like explosions or passages of machine-gun fire: they function as an “objective correlative” to the chaos of warfare and to the poignant obliteration of the fallen.

(mlf)

Bill Morrison

Bill Morrison (b. 1965 in Chicago, Illinois) currently lives in New York. He attended Cooper Union, where he studied painting and animation. After college, he worked with New York's Ridge Theater, making short film backdrops for their avant-garde productions. This work has been recognized with two Bessie Awards and an Obie. Morrison’s film and multimedia art has been screened at festivals, museums and concert halls worldwide, including the Sundance Film Festival, the Tate Modern, and the British Film Institute. Morrison has been commissioned to create films for numerous composers, including John Adams, Laurie Anderson, Gavin Bryars, Dave Douglas, Richard Einhorn, Bill Frisell, Michael Gordon, Henryk Górecki, Vijay Iyer, Jóhann Jóhannsson, David Lang, Harry Partch, Steve Reich and Julia Wolfe. Morrison has received the Alpert Award, as well as fellowships from Creative Capital, the Guggenheim Foundation, the Foundation for Contemporary Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts. His work was recently honoured with a mid-career retrospective at the Museum of Modern Art, NY, from October 2014 - March 2015.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Beyond Zero: 1914–1918

Die Schrecken des Ersten Weltkriegs sind in einer Reihe von Fernsehserien ausführlich dargelegt worden. In konventionellen Dokumentationen dieser Art wechseln historische Aufnahmen von Kriegsschauplätzen in der Regel mit (häufig sehr bewegenden) Berichten von Überlebenden und Experten. Bill Morrisons Film stellt eine Abkehr von diesem Stil dar: Beyond Zero verzichtet auf einen Begleitkommentar und auf Interviews mit ehemaligen Soldaten, und auch Karten und Texteinblendungen fehlen. Stattdessen hat Morrison besonders seltene und ästhetische Archivaufnahmen ausfindig gemacht und dieses nie zuvor gezeigte Material zu einer einzigen nahtlosen Sequenz verwoben, die als Traum und Wirklichkeit in einem anmutet. Verlangsamte Aufnahmen zeigen Generäle, die wie Geister aus einer versunkenen Epoche durchs Bild reiten; Panzer schwanken auf die Kamera zu, Gräben werden mühsam ausgehoben und mit Stacheldraht gesichert. In der Entfernung bewegt sich ein Luftschiff am Himmel, und zwischen den Schlachtszenen sehen wir ein paar Hunde, die auf einem Kohlacker einen toten Soldaten aufgespürt haben.

Morrison hat anstelle eines Kommentars eine großartige, von Aleksandra Vrebalov komponierte und vom Kronos Quartet interpretierte Filmmusik gewählt, die die Fremdheit der Kriegsbilder hervorhebt. Die zahlreichen Schäden an den historischen Nitrozellulosefilmen, die sich in dunklen Flecken und nicht mehr erkennbaren Stellen äußern, sind Teil des künstlerischen Effekts: Sie gleichen Explosionen oder Maschinengewehrsalven und werden somit zu gegenständlichen Entsprechungen zum Chaos des Krieges und zur ergreifenden Auslöschung der Gefallenen.

(mlf)

Bill Morrison

Bill Morrison wurde 1965 in Chicago, Illinois, geboren und lebt heute in New York, wo er an der Cooper Union Malerei und Animation studierte. Nach dem College arbeitete er für das New Yorker Ridge Theater und baute Kurzfilmkulissen für deren avantgardistische Produktionen, die mit zwei Bessie Awards und einem Obie ausgezeichnet wurden. Morrisons Film- und Multimediakunst war bereits weltweit auf zahlreichen Festivals und in vielen Museen und Konzerthallen zu sehen, wie dem Sundance Film Festival, der Tate Modern und dem British Film Institute. Morrison hat Filme für namhafte Komponisten wie John Adams, Laurie Anderson, Gavin Bryars, Dave Douglas, Richard Einhorn, Bill Frisell, Michael Gordon, Henryk Górecki, Vijay Iyer, Jóhann Jóhannsson, David Lang, Harry Partch, Steve Reich und Julia Wolfe gedreht. Er wurde ferner mit dem Alpert Award ausgezeichnet und erhielt Stipendien von Creative Capital, der Guggenheim Foundation, der Foundation for Contemporary Arts sowie dem National Endowment for the Arts. Von Oktober 2014 bis März 2015 präsentierte das Museum of Modern Art in New York eine Retrospektive seiner bisherigen Arbeiten.