Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Film

Notfilm: A Kino-Essay by Ross Lipman

The Irish playwright Samuel Beckett only made one venture into filmmaking, a 20-minute experimental short entitled Film directed by Alan Schneider that came out in 1965 and starred the famous silent actor Buster Keaton. His role in the movie was to play a mysterious stranger in the back streets of Brooklyn, trying ineffectually to escape the pursuit of the camera’s gaze – a gaze that, were Beckett not such a celebrated atheist, might almost be said to stand for the penetrating eye of God.

“The perceiver desires like mad to perceive, and the perceived tries desperately to hide,” explains Beckett. “In the end, one wins.” Or, as he put it elsewhere: “A man may keep away from everybody, but he can’t keep away from himself.”

Ross Lipman has constructed a documentary that looks at the famous short from all angles, starting with the initial commissioning of the film by Barney Rosset of the Grove Press. We hear all about the casting of Keaton (the original target was Chaplin) and about the involvement of Beckett with the shooting of the film in New York (rather unusual in itself, as the dramatist tended not to get involved with staging the plays he had written). Surviving collaborators are interviewed in engaging fashion, and the film’s impact on different generations of critics and movie scholars is chronicled with acumen.

An interesting sidelight that emerges is that Beckett was an admirer of Russian cinema – in the thirties he had written to Eisenstein asking to be taken on at the Moscow Film School: Film’s connections with classic Soviet cinema practice (the cinematographer was Boris Kaufman, brother of “Kino Eye” theorist Dziga Vertov) are here suggestively gone into.

Combining well-chosen archive footage with up-to-the-minute formal analysis, Lipman succeeds in painting a multi-angled portrait of a fascinating episode of the avant-garde.

(mlf)

Ross Lipman

Ross Lipman is an independent filmmaker and archivist. Formerly Senior Film Restorationist at the UCLA Film & Television Archive, his many restorations include Charles Burnett's Killer of Sheep, Kent Mackenzie's The Exiles, the Academy Award-winning documentary The Times of Harvey Milk, and works by Charlie Chaplin, Orson Welles, Robert Altman, and John Cassavetes. He was a 2008 recipient of Anthology Film Archives' Preservation Honors, and is a three-time winner of the National Society of Film Critics' Heritage Award. His essays on film history, technology, and aesthetics have been published in Artforum, Sight and Sound, and numerous academic books and journals. His most recent film restorations are Thom Andersen's Eadweard Muybridge, Zoopraxographer and the film Crossroads.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Film

Notfilm: A Kino-Essay by Ross Lipman

Der irische Schriftsteller und Dramatiker Samuel Beckett versuchte sich nur ein Mal als Drehbuchautor. Sein 20-minütiger Kurzfilm, in der Regie von Alan Schneider, mit dem Titel Film und dem berühmten Stummfilmstar Buster Keaton in der Hauptrolle erschien 1965. Keaton spielt darin einen mysteriösen Fremden, der in den unwirtlichen Straßen Brooklyns vergeblich versucht, sich dem stetigen Blick der Kamera zu entziehen – einem Blick, der sich womöglich als das allsehende Auge Gottes deuten ließe, wäre Beckett nicht unter anderem als Atheist bekannt gewesen.

„Der Beobachter wünscht sich nichts sehnlicher als zuzuschauen, während der Beobachtete verzweifelt versucht, sich zu verbergen“, erklärt Beckett. „Am Ende gewinnt einer der beiden.“ Oder wie er an anderer Stelle schreibt: „Ein Mensch kann sich von allen anderen fernhalten, aber sich selbst kann er nicht entkommen.“

Ross Lipmans Dokumentarfilm widmet sich dem berühmten Kurzfilm nun aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln, angefangen mit dem Verleger Barney Rosset von Grove Press, der den Film in Auftrag gab, über das Casting von Keaton (der Wunschkandidat war ursprünglich Charlie Chaplin) bis zur Mitarbeit Becketts an den Dreharbeiten in New York (letzteres war ungewöhnlich für den Dramatiker, der sonst nie an den Inszenierungen seiner Stücke teilhatte). Ehemalige Mitarbeiter und Beteiligte erzählen in lebhaften Interviews von ihren Erinnerungen, und die Wirkung des Films auf verschiedene Generationen von Kritikern und Filmwissenschaftlern wird mit scharfsinnigem Blick erforscht.

Ein interessanter Exkurs erzählt von Becketts Bewunderung für das russische Kino. In den 30er Jahren hatte er an Sergei Eisenstein geschrieben und um die Aufnahme an der Moskauer Filmhochschule gebeten. Die Verbindungen von Film mit den Stilmitteln des klassischen Sowjet-Kinos (die Kamera führte Boris Kaufman, ein Bruder des Regisseurs und Filmtheoretikers Dsiga Wertow, der den Begriff „Kino-Auge“ prägte) werden anschaulich dargelegt.

Lipman verbindet sorgfältig ausgewählte Archivaufnahmen mit aktuellen formalen Analysen und zeichnet so ein facettenreiches Porträt von einem faszinierenden Kapitel der künstlerischen Avantgarde.

(mlf)

Ross Lipman

Ross Lipman ist ein unabhängiger Filmemacher und Archivar, der in der Vergangenheit unter anderem als leitender Filmrestaurator des UCLA Film & Television Archive tätig war. Zu seinen zahlreichen Restaurationsprojekten zählen Killer of Sheep von Charles Burnett, Kent Mackenzies The Exiles, der oscargekrönte Dokumentarfilm The Times of Harvey Milk sowie Werke von Charlie Chaplin, Orson Welles, Robert Altman und John Cassavetes. 2008 wurde er mit dem Heritage Award der Anthology Film Archives ausgezeichnet. Seine Essays zu geschichtlichen, technischen und ästhetischen Aspekten des Films wurden in Artforum, Sight & Sound sowie in zahlreichen Lehrbüchern und Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht. Zu seinen jüngsten Restaurationen zählen der Thom-Andersen-Film Eadweard Muybridge, Zoopraxographer und der Film Crossroads.