Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Monumentum

“Strange is how every movement ends with stillness; stranger is that stillness is destined to move” – Fadi Yeni Turk
There are two major events in a monument’s life: its erection and its demolition.
As the Arabic world experiences times of turbulent political change, Lebanese filmmaker Fadi Yeni Turk documents the monuments’ fates. With the essay film Monumentum, Yeni Turk, who also works as press photographer, turns away from current political catastrophes and instead contemplates the independent existence of monuments.

“I stood still before them, contemplating and wondering why I have not stood and contemplated them before.” So begins Fadi Yeni Turk’s fascinating journey into countless squares, crossroads, and corners of Middle Eastern and North African cities that remain unnamed. By directing the gaze towards the supposed motionlessness of the statues and by means of his sensitive and melancholic narration, the film creates a distance to the catastrophic events of the day which resembles the distant way children observe their environment.

In doing so, the film discovers the defiant autonomy of the monuments, as does the stone in a hidden cemetery, concealing the religious affiliation of the dead. In this way, the most diverse memorials are born from the consistent, identical raw materials in the sculptor’s workshop; statues patiently await their removal from the sculptor’s courtyard… In the steady rhythm of this contemplation appears an entirely new possibility of political discourse. Monumentum responds to the insanity of our times with poetic resistance.

(ab)

Fadi Yeni Turk

In addition to his work as a photo reporter and director of photography of a number of documentary films, Fadi Yeni Turk is the director and scriptwriter of short and feature documentary films. These include Demo (2003), Layn (2006), When the War Sank In (2010), and Monumentum (2015).

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Monumentum

„Merkwürdig, dass jede Bewegung zum Stillstand kommt. Noch merkwürdiger jedoch ist, dass jeder Stillstand in Bewegung mündet.“ – Fadi Yeni Turk

Im Leben eines Monuments gibt es zwei große Ereignisse: seine Aufstellung und seinen Abriss. In Zeiten der turbulenten politischen Veränderung der arabischen Welt dokumentiert der Libanese Fadi Yeni Turk in seinem Film Monumentum das Schicksal der Denkmäler. Yeni Turk, der unter anderem als Fotoreporter arbeitet, wendet sich in diesem Essayfilm von den aktuellen politischen Katastrophen ab und kontempliert stattdessen das Eigenleben der Monumente.

„Ich blieb vor ihnen stehen und wunderte mich und überlegte, warum ich nicht früher stehengeblieben war und über sie nachgedacht hatte.“ So beginnt eine faszinierende Reise zu zahlreichen Plätzen, Straßenkreuzungen und Winkeln namenlos bleibender Städte des Nahen Ostens und Nordafrikas. Indem er den Blick auf die vermeintliche Starrheit der Denkmäler lenkt und ihn mit seiner sensiblen und melancholischen Erzählstimme begleitet, schafft der Film einen Abstand zum katastrophalen Zeitgeschehen, der der distanzierten Betrachtungsweise eines aufmerksamen Kindes gleicht.

Auf diese Weise legt er das widerspenstige Eigenleben der Denkmäler frei: So verschweigt der Stein auf einem vergessenen Friedhof die Religionszugehörigkeit der Toten. So werden in der Bildhauerwerkstatt unterschiedlichste Standbilder aus dem immer gleichen formgebenden Material geboren. So warten im Innenhof der Werkstatt fertige Statuen geduldig auf den Abtransport... Im ruhigen Rhythmus dieser Kontemplation scheint eine völlig neue Möglichkeit des politischen Diskurses auf. Dem Irrsinn unserer Zeit entgegnet Monumentum mit poetischem Widerstand.

(ab)

Fadi Yeni Turk

Neben seiner Arbeit als Fotojournalist und Kameramann für eine Reihe von Dokumentarfilmen hat Fadi Yeni Turk als Regisseur und Drehbuchautor an diversen Kurz- und Langfilmdokus mitgewirkt, darunter Demo (2003), Layn (2006), When the War Sank In (2010) und Monumentum (2015).