Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Erbarme Dich – Matthäus Passion Stories

With the help of Bach’s St Matthew Passion, Ramón Gieling's Erbarme Dich explores the profound impact music has on people. The St Matthew Passion is, indeed, deeply rooted in Lutheran belief, yet one doesn’t have to share this specific experience of faith at all in order to be touched by the music. Director Peter Sellars captures this concisely in his statement: "It’s such an intense trajectory. To start with weeping, to weep in the middle, and at the end, to weep again…"

Gieling's documentary is structured like a collage. Aside from Peter Sellars, writer Anna Enquist, soprano Olga Zinovieva and choreographer Emio Greco appear with very personal stories, each of which bind them to Bach’s music. This intimate tone is ruptured by means of interspersed fleeting images from daily news which emphasize pain as a personal, yet universal experience. On one hand, the collage is held together as it follows the rehearsals of the St Matthew Passion as a central theme; they take place in a dilapidated Amsterdam church under the musical direction of conductor Pieter Jan Leusink, who invited the homeless choir De Straatklinkers to join. On the other hand, the film’s components are connected through Gieling’s very precise imagery, which is evocative of 17th-century Dutch painting.

The film doesn’t negate the religious roots of the Passion but it strikingly shows how this music, by its very nature, passes over the boundaries of its origin. This is probably the meaning of John Berger’s words: “Without the persistence of this hope, songs would not exist. Songs lean forward.”

(ab)

Ramón Gieling

Ramón Gieling (b. 1954, the Netherlands) was educated in visual art. He was founder of the journal Wolfsmond (1967-1987), a mouthpiece for writers, filmmakers and composers. Gieling’s body of work consists of feature films, short films, documentaries and theatre plays. His documentary Erbarme Dich – Matthäus Passion Stories premiered at IFFR 2015.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Erbarme Dich – Matthäus Passion Stories

Ramón Gielings Film Erbarme Dich erkundet am Beispiel von Bachs Matthäus-Passion die profunde Wirkung der Musik auf den Menschen. Zwar ist die Matthäus-Passion tief im lutherisch-christlichen Glauben verwurzelt, doch muss man diese spezifische Glaubenserfahrung nicht teilen, um von der Musik berührt zu werden. Der Regisseur Peter Sellars fasst das im Film prägnant so zusammen: "It’s such an intense trajectory. To start with weeping, to weep in the middle, and at the end, to weep again…"

Gielings Dokumentarfilm ist wie eine Collage angelegt. Neben Peter Sellars kommen auch die Schriftstellerin Anna Enquist, die Sopranistin Olga Zinovieva und der Choreograph Emio Greco mit sehr persönlichen Geschichten zu Wort, die sie mit Bachs Musik verbinden. Durch kurz eingeblendete Fragmente aus den Tagesnachrichten wird der sonst intime Ton gebrochen und Schmerz als universelle Erfahrung gezeigt. Zusammengehalten wird diese Collage zum einen dadurch, dass sie den Proben zur Matthäus-Passion gleich einem roten Faden folgt. Diese finden in einer verfallenen Amsterdamer Kirche unter der musikalischen Leitung des Dirigenten Pieter Jan Leusink und der Mitwirkung des Oberdachlosenchors De Straatklinkers statt. Zum anderen werden die Teile durch die präzise Bildsprache des Filmemachers verbunden, die an die holländische Malerei des 17. Jahrhunderts erinnert.

Der Film verneint die religiöse Herkunft der Passion nicht, zeigt aber eindrucksvoll, wie diese Musik die Grenzen ihrer Herkunft von Anfang an überschreitet. Das ist es wohl, was John Berger meinte, als er schrieb: "Without the persistence of this hope, songs would not exist. Songs lean forward."

(ab)

Ramón Gieling

Ramón Gieling (geb. 1954 in den Niederlanden) absolvierte ein Studium in bildender Kunst und gründete später die Zeitschrift Wolfsmond (1967-1987), ein Sprachrohr für Schriftsteller, Filmemacher und Komponisten. Gielings Oeuvre umfasst Spiel-, Kurz- und Dokumentarfilme sowie Theaterstücke. Seine Dokumentation Erbarme Dich – Matthäus Passion Stories wurde erstmals 2015 beim International Film Festival Rotterdam gezeigt.