Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

China Concerto

Since the Tiananmen Square massacre of 1989, China has experienced an unprecedented economic boom, along with a concurrent de-politicisation of society. Yet under the capitalist glittering façades hide ideological legacies.

The power of Bo Wang's film China Concerto lies in making these contradictions visible in an enlightening and entertaining manner. On display are images of extremely strange events in which groups comprised mostly of senior citizens dance to communist pop songs, alongside excerpts from old propaganda films, current television broadcasts and excerpts from Antonioni's seminal 1972 film about China. Wang packs all this together with an English voice-over narration that unmistakably hearkens back to Chris Marker's Sans Soleil, thus creating an equally disturbing and emotional film essay.

Bo Wang, who has long lived in New York, is predestined to cast a critical look upon China's Janusian nature. This is because his gaze is that of neither an insider nor a western outsider, but rather a third entity, schooled by western theorists like Guy Debord – a Chinese documentarian who deconstructs the ideological spectacle in his hometown of Chongqing, where the prominent local politician Bo Xilai attempted a sort of communist counterrevolution a few years ago.

Wang's sober attention to the incidental and the marginal penetrates the confusing surfaces of modern China, allowing us a look at the individual and emotional beyond all the spectacle.

(sh)

Bo Wang

Bo Wang (b. 1982, Chongqing, China) is an artist and filmmaker based in Brooklyn, New York. His works have been exhibited internationally, including venues like MoMA in New York, CPH:DOX in Copenhagen, Shanghai Biennale, Times Art Museum in Guangzhou, Asia Society Texas Center, among many others. He was a fellow at the Robert Flaherty Film Seminar in 2013 and attended the Berlinale Talents programme at Berlin International Film Festival in 2014. He is also a faculty member at Visual and Critical Studies, School of Visual Arts, New York.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

China Concerto

Seit dem Tian'anmen-Massaker 1989 erlebte China einen beispiellosen wirtschaftlichen Boom, bei gleichzeitiger Entpolitisierung der Gesellschaft. Doch hinter den kapitalistischen Glitzerfassaden verbergen sich ideologische Altlasten.

Diese Widersprüchlichkeit auf erhellende wie unterhaltsame Weise sichtbar zu machen, ist die Leistung von Bo Wangs Film China Concerto . Zu sehen sind Bilder höchst eigenartiger Veranstaltungen, wo Gruppen meist älterer Bürger kommunistische Popsongs tanzen, Ausschnitte aus alten Propagandafilmen und aktuellen TV-Sendungen sowie Passagen aus Antonionis bahnbrechendem China-Film von 1972. Dies alles verdichtet Wang mit einer englischen Voice-over-Erzählung, die unverkennbar an Chris Markers Sans Soleil anknüpft, zu einem gleichermaßen verstörenden wie emotionalen Filmessay.

Der seit Langem in New York lebende Bo Wang ist für einen kritischen Blick auf die Janusköpfigkeit Chinas prädestiniert. Denn sein Blick ist weder der eines Insiders, noch eines westlichen Außenstehenden, er ist etwas Drittes: geschult an westlichen Theoretikern wie Guy Debord dekonstruiert ein chinesischer Dokumentarfilmer die ideologischen Spektakel in seiner Heimatstadt Chongqing, wo der Provinzpolitiker Bo Xilai vor einigen Jahren eine Art kommunistische Konterrevolution versuchte.

Wangs nüchterne Aufmerksamkeit für das Beiläufige am Rande durchdringt die verwirrenden Oberflächen des modernen Chinas und ermöglicht uns einen Blick auf das Individuelle und Emotionale jenseits aller Spektakel.

(sh)

Bo Wang

Bo Wang (geb. 1982 in Chongqing, China) ist ein in Brooklyn lebender und schaffender Künstler und Filmemacher. Seine Arbeiten finden international Beachtung und wurden an zahlreichen renommierten Orten präsentiert, u. a. im MoMA in New York, im CPH:DOX in Kopenhagen, bei der Shanghai Biennale, im Times Art Museum in Guangzhou sowie im Asia Society Texas Center. 2013 wurde er als Fellow ans Robert Flaherty Film Seminar berufen, 2014 nahm er an der Initiative „Berlinale Talents“ der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin teil. Wang ist zudem Mitglied der Fakultät für Visual and Critical Studies und der School of Visual Arts in New York.