Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Black Sun

“...This is the first time I have ever written in the dark ... not knowing whether I am indeed forming letters.” – Diderot

One evening in 1978, French painter Hugues de Montalembert enters his New York flat and finds himself face-to-face with two burglars. A fight ensues, during which one of the men throws solvent in de Montalembert's face. Though the painter's screams drive the burglars away, the fluid's effect is immediate. De Montalembert feels his eyesight waning; the next morning he is blind. The artist faces this dramatic situation with incredible willpower and admirable courage. Two years later he travels alone to Bali, the first of many trips. And he begins to write, by hand, not knowing whether the pen leaves traces upon the paper.

Black Sun tells this unusual story. The film unfolds like a journey of discovery: what happens when a painter goes blind? De Montalembert's visually imprinted brain responds to the darkness with a wealth of images, as if a secret power newly arranges the possibilities of his vision. Filmmaker Gary Tarn adds his own version of what's happening to de Montalembert's poetically narrative voice. In a cinematic tour de force, an audiovisual landscape is created in which dreamlike and everyday pictures stand as equivalent options alongside the artist's real memories and imaginations. In doing so, this visually intriguing essay film confirms de Montalembert's words: “A painter sees beyond seeing... He creates vision.”

(ab)

Gary Tarn

Gary Tarn is a filmmaker and composer, born in London, England. A keen traveller, he became captivated by the music of Indonesia, Africa and India, and studied these, alongside the work of European orchestral composers. A passion for film led to a career as a media composer, and it was a natural progression to consider shooting and editing images of his own. In 2000, using a classic 1970’s 16mm film camera, he started to shoot his debut essay feature Black Sun, travelling in the USA, Iceland and India. Based on interviews with the blind author Hugues de Montalembert, the film was released in 2005, won a number of international awards, and was nominated for a film BAFTA. His second film The Prophet, based on the book by Kahlil Gibran, with narration by British actress Thandie Newton, was released in 2012.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Black Sun

“...This is the first time I have ever written in the dark ... not knowing whether I am indeed forming letters.” – Diderot

An einem Abend im Jahr 1978 betritt der französische Maler Hugues de Montalembert seine New Yorker Wohnung und sieht sich dort mit zwei Einbrechern konfrontiert. Es kommt zu einem Kampf, währenddessen einer der Männer de Montalembert ein Lösungsmittel ins Gesicht schüttet. Zwar vertreiben die Schreie des Malers die Einbrecher, der Effekt der basischen Flüssigkeit jedoch ist unmittelbar. De Montalembert fühlt sein Augenlicht schwinden, am nächsten Morgen ist er blind. Mit unfassbarer Zähigkeit und bewundernswertem Mut begegnet der Künstler dieser dramatischen Situation; bereits zwei Jahre später reist er alleine nach Bali, viele Reisen werden folgen. Und er beginnt zu schreiben; er schreibt mit der Hand, ohne zu wissen, ob der Stift auf dem Papier Spuren hinterlässt.

Black Sun erzählt diese ungewöhnliche Geschichte. Der Film gleicht einer Entdeckungsreise: Was passiert, wenn ein Maler erblindet? De Montalemberts visuell geprägtes Gehirn reagiert auf die Dunkelheit mit einem Reichtum an Bildern, als würde eine geheime Macht die Möglichkeiten seines Sehens neu anordnen. Filmemacher Gary Tarn fügt der poetisch erzählenden Stimme de Montalemberts seine eigene Version dieses Geschehens hinzu. In einer filmischen Tour de Force entsteht eine audio-visuelle Landschaft, in der traumgleiche und alltägliche Bilder so gleichwertig nebeneinander stehen wie die realen Erinnerungen und Imaginationen im Kopf des Künstlers. Und so bestätigt dieser visuell faszinierende Essayfilm de Montalemberts Worte: „A painter sees beyond seeing ... He creates vision.“

(ab)

Gary Tarn

Der in London geborene Filmemacher und Komponist Gary Tarn lernte die Musik Indonesiens, Afrikas und Indiens auf seinen zahlreichen Reisen kennen und lieben. Seine Faszination mit diesen Musikrichtungen veranlasste ihn dazu, sie zusammen mit den Werken europäischer Orchesterkomponisten zu studieren. Seine Leidenschaft für den Film führte ihn schließlich an eine Karriere als Medienkomponist heran, und von dort war es gewissermaßen eine natürliche Entwicklung hin zu eigenen Filmprojekten. Im Jahr 2000 begann er mit einer klassischen 16-mm-Kamera aus den 70er Jahren, an seinem essayistischen Debüt-Film Black Sun zu arbeiten, der ihn in die USA, nach Island und Indien führte. Der auf Interviews mit dem blinden Schriftsteller Hugues de Montalembert basierende Film wurde 2005 veröffentlicht und erhielt zahlreiche internationale Preise sowie eine BAFTA-Nominierung. Tarns zweiter Film, The Prophet, der auf der Romanvorlage von Kahlil Gibran basiert und von der britischen Schauspielerin Thandie Newton begleitend erzählt wird, kam 2012 heraus.