Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Absent God

“Thou shalt not kill”. For philosopher Emmanuel Levinas, that is the primary message to emanate from the visage of one's counterpart. From the reflection on the view of the “other”, Levinas develops a “visual ethics” as a central concept of a Jewish humanism. Yoram Ron takes Levinas' visual moralism and renders it fruitful as a reflection on film itself, in the DNA of which close-ups of faces have always been inscribed.
Extremely lively original recordings allow us to do more than simply watch Levinas philosophise. In his film essay, Ron combines images of war, art, mass media, and religion along with conversations featuring contemporary Jewish, Christian and Islamic philosophers. The result succeeds in creating a completely original and independent instance of philosophising. His images are never merely illustrative – rather, they consistently open up a level behind and above what has been said.
A real coup is the encounter with filmmaker Luc Dardenne, who experienced Levinas as a lecturer at a Belgian university. Dardenne explains how the realistic cinematics of the Dardenne brothers were influenced by Levinas' thinking.
Beyond the problems of vision and its representation, Ron also builds a bridge from the Holocaust and German philosophy in the 20th century to the current intellectual and political situation in Israel. It is a rare case of consistently exciting, high-level cinematic transposition of philosophy, which is nevertheless accessible and requires little previous knowledge of the viewer.

(sh)

Yoram Ron

Yoram Ron was born in 1971 in Jerusalem. He lives in Tel Aviv, where he teaches video and philosophy in Shenkar College, Tel Aviv. Ron studied philosophy in Jerusalem and in Paris, and Cinema in Tel Aviv. He directed several short documentaries, fiction and experimental films and runs a small independent film production company, Arnavaz Productions. For his films he won the FirstPrize for Experimental Films at the Jerusalem Film Festival 2003 and at DocAviv 2009. Ron has also published translations of Levinas and Deleuze and Guattari into Hebrew.

Doku Arts

DOKU.ARTS
Zeughauskino Berlin
06.–23.10.2016

Absent God

„Du sollst nicht töten“ – das ist für den Philosophen Emmanuel Levinas die primäre Botschaft, die vom Antlitz meines Gegenübers ausgeht. Aus der Reflexion über den Blick des „Anderen“ entwickelte Levinas eine „optische Ethik“ als zentralen Begriff eines jüdischen Humanismus. Yoram Ron macht Levinas' visuellen Moralismus für eine Reflexion über Film an sich fruchtbar, in dessen DNA Großaufnahmen von Gesichtern von jeher eingeschrieben sind.

Überaus lebendige Originalaufnahmen lassen uns nicht nur Levinas beim Philosophieren zusehen – Ron verbindet Bilder von Krieg, Kunst, Massenmedien und Religion mit Gesprächen zeitgenössischer jüdischer, christlicher und islamischer Philosophen zu einem Filmessay, dem ein ganz eigenständiges Philosophieren in Bildern gelingt. Seine Bilder sind nie nur illustrierend, sondern eröffnen stets eine Ebene hinter und über dem Gesagten.

Ein echter Coup ist die Begegnung mit dem Filmemacher Luc Dardenne, der Levinas noch als Dozent an einer belgischen Universität erlebte. Dardenne legt dar, wie die realistische Filmkunst der Brüder Dardenne maßgeblich von Levinas' Denken beeinflusst wurde.

Über die Probleme des Blicks und der Darstellung hinaus schlägt Ron den Bogen von der Shoa über die deutsche Philosophie im 20. Jahrhundert bis hin zur aktuellen geistig-politischen Situation in Israel. Es ist der seltene Fall einer durchweg spannenden filmischen Umsetzung von Philosophie auf hohem Niveau, die gleichwohl zugänglich daherkommt und wenig Wissen voraussetzt.

(sh)

Yoram Ron

Yoram Ron wurde 1971 in Jerusalem geboren und lebt in Tel Aviv. Er ist Dozent für Videokunst und Philosophie am dortigen Shenkar College. Ron studierte Philosophie in Jerusalem und Paris sowie Filmkunst in Tel Aviv. Er leitet eine kleine, unabhängige Produktionsfirma, Arnavaz Productions, und hat als Regisseur an diversen Kurzdokumentarfilmen, Spielfilmen und Experimentalfilmen gearbeitet. 2003 wurde er beim Jerusalem Film Festival mit dem ersten Preis für den Besten Experimentalfilm ausgezeichnet; 2009 wurde ihm beim DocAviv dieselbe Ehrung zuteil. Ron hat zudem Übersetzungen von Levinas und Deleuze und Guattari ins Hebräische veröffentlicht.